Home / TV Serial / English / DVD / Agatha Christie’s Poirot | English TV Serial On DVD | Personal Reviews

Agatha Christie’s Poirot | English TV Serial On DVD | Personal Reviews

Agatha Christie is known as Queen Of Crime (fictional thrillers). The books and short stories she wrote are loved by people incredibly and they are all so popular. She have created various fictional characters including Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple amongst the others.

Hercule Poirot

Hercule Poirot

Hercule Poirot is a Belgian detective who works on various cases and resolve them. A TV Serial was made and aired in Briton in 1989 featuring David Suchet as the protagonist. The TV serial got so much appreciation and love from the audience that there were 13 seasons of the same was created! The last season was completed in 2013. So in a way we can say it was spread over the span of roughly 24 years! A benchmark for any TV Serial. David Suchet also achieved benchmark by working as the protagonist in all them! Yes, he played Hercule Poirot in all 13 seasons! From 1989 to 2013!

And he didn’t achieve the milestone without hard work, of course. Before the shooting was begun he decided to go through all the work of Agatha Christie featuring Poirot. So he can understand the character better. He, for many days, made a routine to read it and note down the attributes of Poirot. He was then able to be the closest match of the character, as imagined by the author in the book. In fact, we found the references that his portrayal of the character was praised and approved by the family members of late Agatha Christie. And they confirm that Agatha herself should have approved the act of David as Poirot. After the end of the last episode (title: Curtain) of 13th (last) series, there was a 50 minutes documentary titled: Being Poirot aired. As you can understand from the title, it is about David’s efforts to get ready for live the character of – Hercule Poirot.

Here is a public video available at YouTube by BFIEvents (it is – Dead Man’s Folly Q & A session with David Suchet on 27 October 2013):

It is not only David retained the role for all the seasons. There are some other actors who played their roles for various seasons.

Actor Character Title Series Years
David Suchet
Hercule Poirot   1–13 1989–2013
Hugh Fraser
Arthur Hastings Captain OBE 1–8, 13 1989–2002, 2013
Philip Jackson
James Japp Chief Inspector (series 1-8)
Assistant Commissioner (series 13)
1–8, 13 1989–2001, 2013
Pauline Moran
Felicity Lemon Secretary 1–3, 5–8, 13 1989–1991, 1993–2001, 2013
Zoë Wanamaker
Ariadne Oliver Crime novelist 10–13 2006–2013
David Yelland George Valet   10–13 2006–2013

Apart from this team, there are several actors who have played (more than one) various roles in different episodes. The list includes the following actors:

Actor Character Episode
Nicholas Farrell
Donald Fraser The ABC Murders
Major Knighton The Mystery of the Blue Train
Pip Torrens
Major Rich The Mystery of the Spanish Chest
Jeremy Cloade Taken at the Flood
Simon Shepherd
David Hall Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan
Dr. Rendell Mrs McGinty’s Dead
Richard Lintern
John Lake Dead Man’s Mirror
Guy Carpenter Mrs McGinty’s Dead
Carol MacReady
Mildred Croft Peril at End House
Miss Johnson Cat Among the Pigeons
Beth Goddard
Violet Wilson The Case of the Missing Will
Sister Agnieszka Appointment with Death
Lucy Liemann
Miss Burgess Cards on the Table
Sonia Third Girl
David Yelland
Laverton West Murder in the Mews
George (recurring, 2010-2013)
Fenella Woolgar
Ellis Lord Edgware Dies
Elizabeth Whittaker Hallowe’en Party
Beatie Edney
Mary Cavendish The Mysterious Affair at Styles
Beryl Hemmings The Clocks
Frances Barber
Lady Millicent Castle-Vaughan The Veiled Lady
Merlina Rival The Clocks
Sean Pertwee
Ronnie Oglander The King of Clubs
Sir George Stubbs Dead Man’s Folly
Danny Webb
Porter The Adventure of the Clapham Cook
Superintendent Bill Garroway Elephants Can Remember
Ian Hallard
Edmund Drake Hallowe’en Party
Mercutio The Big Four
Jane How
Lady at Ball The Mystery of the Blue Train
Lady Veronica Cat Among the Pigeons
Patrick Ryecart
Charles Dumb Witness
Sir Anthony Morgan The Labours of Hercules
Barbara Barnes
Mrs Lester The Lost Mine
Louise Leidner Murder in Mesopotamia

Here are the season-wise episode details:

Season 1
Title Aired on (in UK)
The Adventure of the Clapham Cook 8 January 1989
Murder in the Mews 15 January 1989
The Adventure of Johnnie Waverly 22 January 1989
Four and Twenty Blackbirds 29 January 1989
The Third Floor Flat 5 February 1989
Triangle at Rhodes 12 February 1989
Problem at Sea 19 February 1989
The Incredible Theft 26 February 1989
The King of Clubs 12 March 1989
The Dream 19 March 1989

9 Episode was aired as part of second season:

Season 2
Title Aired on (in UK)
Peril at End House 7 January 1990

We will keep reviewing the stuff episode wise and update this page with links and other information. So, do not feel disappointed if you are unable to see an episode detail/link here it will keep updating. To get updates at your inbox, you may follow our RSS Feeds and/or bookmark this page! You can also share it with your friend and family who you think are fan of Hercule Poirot, Agatha Christie, Crime Fiction Or Crime Thrillers for sure 🙂

We must say the DVD quality is quite good and remastered print and sound will make you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Privacy Preference Center

Strictly Necessary

These cookies are essential for websites built on Wordpress to perform their basic functions. These include those required to allow registered users to authenticate and perform account related functions.

wordpress_test_cookie, wordpress_{hash}, wordpress_logged_in_{hash}, wp-settings-{user_id}, wp_sharing_{id}

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?