Saturday , 22 July 2017
Home » TV Serial » English » DVD » Damages TV Series | Introductory Reviews

Damages TV Series | Introductory Reviews

If you are a regular reader of ThinkerViews, you already know that periodically we talk about some good TV Series we found worth sharing about. In the same arena, let us talk about an English TV series named Damages.

If legal drama is your cup of tea then US TV Series Damages can prove a good choice for you.

Daniel Zelman united with Glenn Kessler and Todd A. Kessler (Glenn and Todd are brothers, btw) for this TV Series. They authored and produced this TV Series together. On July 24, 2007 the series was premiered on FX and remained aired for 3 seasons. After the 3rd series it was moved to DirecTV channel and two seasoned are aired there.

Principal Characters and Actors who played them:

Actor Character Series
Glenn Close
Patty Hewes 1–5
Rose Byrne
Ellen Parsons 1–5
Tate Donovan
Tom Shayes 1–3
Ted Danson
Arthur Frobisher 1–3
Noah Bean
David Connor 1-3, 5
Željko Ivanek
Ray Fiske 1-3
Zachary Booth
Michael Hewes 1-5
Michael Nouri
Phil Grey 1-3
Anastasia Griffith
Katie Connor 1-2
William Hurt
Daniel Purcell 2
Marcia Gay Harden
Claire Maddox 2
Timothy Olyphant
Wes Krulik 2,3
Campbell Scott
Joe Tobin 3
Martin Short
Leonard Winstone 3
Tom Noonan
Victor Huntley 2-4
Campbell Scott
Joseph Tobin 3
Lily Tomlin
Marilyn Tobin 3
Ben Shenkman
Curtis Gates 3
John Goodman
Howard T. Erickson 4
Dylan Baker
Jerry Boorman 4
Chris Messina
Chris Sanchez 4-5
Judd Hirsch
Bill Herndon 4-5
Jenna Elfman
Naomi Walling 5
John Hannah
Rutger Simon 5
Janet McTeer
Kate Franklin 5

It is worth to note that all first 3 seasons were 13 episode longer while seasons 4 and 5 consists of 10 episodes each.

Here is the season wise episode list:

Season 1

It was a litmus test for the creators to make a fantastic and gripping legal drama. Though when they were initially planning, the legal arena was not in their mind. They wanted to create a thrilling drama focused on two strong women characters, both powerful. The serial starts with a woman running on the street, half naked, have blood spots on her. David, her fiancé was dead in their apartment and she was the prime suspect! The drama takes on from here.

Title Director Written By Release Date

Get Me a Lawyer
Allen Coulter & & July 24, 2007

Jesus, Mary, and Joe Cocker
Greg Yaitanes & Daniel Zelman July 31, 2007

And My Paralyzing Fear of Death
John David Coles & & August 7, 2007

Tastes Like a Ho-Ho
Larry Trilling August 14, 2007

A Regular Earl Anthony
Jean DeSegonzac & & August 21, 2007

She Spat at Me
Mario Van Peebles September 4, 2007

We Are Not Animals
Dan Attias September 11, 2007

Blame the Victim
Guy Ferland and September 18, 2007

Do You Regret What We Did?
Thomas Carter & & September 25, 2007

Sort of Like a Family
Timothy Busfield & October 2, 2007

I Hate These People
Ed Bianchi October 9, 2007

There’s No ‘We’ Anymore
Mario Van Peebles & & October 16, 2007

Because I Know Patty
Todd A. Kessler & & October 23, 2007

It is worth to note that through out the season the story plays with the time by showing incidents of past and its impact on the present.

Season 2

The positive response from the audience for the first season encouraged the makers to go ahead for season 2. Glenn Close, Rose Byrne, and Tate Donovan carries forward their roles while Anastasia Griffith is now a regular actor seen in this season.

Title Director Written By Release Date

I Lied, Too
Todd A. Kessler & & January 7, 2009

Burn It, Shred It, I Don’t Care
Jean de Segonzac & & January 14, 2009

I Knew Your Pig
Constantine Makris & & January 21, 2009

Hey! Mr. Pibb!
Mario Van Peebles January 28, 2009

I Agree, It Wasn’t Funny
Tate Donovan February 4, 2009

A Pretty Girl in a Leotard
Greg Yaitanes February 11, 2009

New York Sucks
Matthew Penn February 18, 2009

They Had to Tweeze That Out of My Kidney
Michael Pressman February 25, 2009

You Got Your Prom Date Pregnant
Ed Bianchi March 4, 2009

Uh Oh, Out Come the Skeletons
Tate Donovan & & March 11, 2009

London. Of Course
Andy Wolk & March 18, 2009

Look What He Dug Up This Time
Matthew Penn & March 25, 2009

Trust Me
Todd A. Kessler & April 1, 2009

This season ends by making the viewers thinking whether Patty and Ellen will be working together again?! Better, to watch for season 3 for that.

Season 3

In addition to the primary cast members, some interesting guest appearances are found in this season. Even actor(s) from the first season returns for some of the episodes. Started with Patty hit by car crash, the series ends with a question by Elle to Patty. What was the question? Well, better to explore later!

Title Director Written By Release Date
Your Secrets Are Safe Todd A. Kessler < & & January 25, 2010
The Dog is Happier Without Her Matthew Penn February 1, 2010
Flight’s at 11:08 Tony Goldwyn February 8, 2010
Don’t Throw That at the Chicken Matthew Penn February 15, 2010
It’s Not My Birthday Daniel Zelman February 22, 2010
Don’t Forget to Thank Mr. Zedeck Timothy Busfield March 1, 2010
You Haven’t Replaced Me Glenn Kessler March 8, 2010
I Look Like Frankenstein Chris Terrio March 15, 2010
Drive it Through Hardcore Tate Donovan March 22, 2010
Tell Me I’m Not Racist David Tuttman March 29, 2010

All That Crap About Your Family
Matthew Penn April 5, 2010
You Were His Little Monkey Timothy Busfield April 12, 2010

The Next One’s Gonna Go in Your Throat
Todd A. Kessler & & April 19, 2010

As noted earlier, this was the last season aired on FX.

Season 4

There are 5 major characters in this season. It starts with Ellen’s new job at another law firm! And, if you like to connect dots it is the same firm where she offered a job in season 1.

Title Director Written By Release Date
There’s Only One Way to Try a Case Todd A. Kessler & & July 13, 2011
I’ve Done Way Too Much for This Girl Todd A. Kessler & July 20, 2011
I’d Prefer My Old Office Nick Gomez July 27, 2011
Next One’s on Me, Blondie Timothy Busfield August 3, 2011
We’ll Just Have to Find Another Way to Cut the Balls Off of This Thing David Tuttman & August 10, 2011
Add That Little Hopper to Your Stew Timothy Busfield August 17, 2011
I’m Worried About My Dog Glenn Kessler August 24, 2011
The War Will Go on Forever Nick Gomez & & August 31, 2011
There’s a Whole Slew of Ladies with Bad Things to Say About the Taliban David Tuttman & & September 7, 2011
Failure is Lonely Glenn Kessler & & September 14, 2011

To keep the user’s anticipation alive for the next season, at the end of this season also Patty and Ellen departs (actually Patty proposes however Ellen decides to go).

Season 5

This is the final season of the series. You will be able to draw parrellels between the content of the season and Julian Asange and WikiLeaks case as well.

Title Director Written By Release Date
You Want to End This Once and For All? Matthew Penn & & July 11, 2012
Have You Met the Eel Yet? Colin Bucksey July 18, 2012
Failure is Failure Jean de Segonzac July 25, 2012
I Love You, Mommy Marcos Siega August 1, 2012
There’s Something Wrong With Me Tate Donovan August 8, 2012
I Need to Win Daniel Zelman August 15, 2012
The Storm’s Moving In Tate Donovan & & August 22, 2012
I’m Afraid of What I’ll Find Ken Girotti August 29, 2012
I Like Your Chair Steve Shill & & September 5, 2012
But You Don’t Do That Anymore Glenn Kessler & & September 12, 2012

The series is available on DVD set and its quite well sold.

Selected Award Nominations

The TV Series and actors/mucicians/producers/directors/authors and other crew members assoicated with the same were notminated for various awards and won many of them. Here is a compiled list of selected nominations from the same.

Award Year Category Nominee(s) Result
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Drama Series Mark A. Baker, , , Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Glenn Close Won
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series Ted Danson Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series Željko Ivanek Won
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series Allen Coulter Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series , , Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Drama Series Mark A. Baker, , , Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Glenn Close Won
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series William Hurt Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series Rose Byrne Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series Ted Danson Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2009 Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series Todd A. Kessler Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2010 Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2010 Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series Martin Short Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2010 Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series Rose Byrne Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2010 Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series Ted Danson Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2008 Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series Lily Tomlin Nominated
Primetime Emmy Award 2012 Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Creative Arts Emmy Awards 2008 Outstanding Casting for a Drama Series Avy Kaufman, Ross Meyerson, Julie Tucker Won
Creative Arts Emmy Awards 2009 Outstanding Casting for a Drama Series Ross Meyerson, Julie Tucker Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2007 Best Television Series – Drama Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2007 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Won
Golden Globe Awards 2007 Best Supporting Actress – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Rose Byrne Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2007 Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Ted Danson Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2009 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2009 Best Supporting Actress – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Rose Byrne Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2009 Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film William Hurt Nominated
Golden Globe Awards 2012 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2007 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2008 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2008 Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Željko Ivanek Nominated
Satellite Awards 2009 Best Television Series – Drama Nominated
Satellite Awards 2009 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2009 Best Actress – Television Series Drama Glenn Close Won
Satellite Awards 2010 Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Martin Short Nominated
Satellite Awards 2010 Best Supporting Actress – Series, Miniseries or Television Film Rose Byrne Nominated
Satellite Awards 2007 Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2009 Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2010 Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Satellite Awards 2011 Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series Glenn Close Nominated
Television Critics Association Awards 2008 Outstanding Achievement in Drama Nominated
Television Critics Association Awards 2008 Outstanding New Program Nominated
Television Critics Association Awards 2008 Individual Achievement in Drama Glenn Close Nominated
Television Critics Association Awards 2009 Individual Achievement in Drama Glenn Close Nominated
ACE Eddie Awards 2007 Best Edited One-Hour TV Series – Commercial Television Malcolm Jamieson Nominated
AFI Awards 2007 International Award for Best Actress Rose Byrne Won
AFI Awards 2009 International Award for Best Actress Rose Byrne Nominated
Crime Thriller Awards 2010 Best International TV Drama Nominated
Crime Thriller Awards 2010 Best Leading Actress Glenn Close Nominated
Gracie Awards 2010 Outstanding Female Actor in a Leading Role in a Drama Series or Special Glenn Close Won
IGN Summer Movie Awards 2010 Best TV Actress Rose Byrne Won
IGN Summer Movie Awards 2010 Best TV Actress Glenn Close Nominated

Watch out for the episode wise reviews for the TV serial in coming days. The list of the episodes will be kept updated with the links to Episode wise reviews, so don’t forget to bookmark this page.

Over To You:

Did you watch this TV Series? Are you curious to watch it? Have your say via comments below then. We will love to hear your remarks as always. Also do not forget to share this article with your friends over various social networks via Twitter, Facebook, Google Plus and others. And yes, you may like to subscribe to our RSS feeds and follow us on various Social networks to get latest updates for the site to land right in your mail box.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*